Skip to content

Seancheol ar an Seannós

Original price €9,00 - Original price €9,00
Original price
€9,00 - €9,00
Current price €9,00
  The SPÓL record label was one of Breandán Breathnach’s many projects. He intended it to be the vehicle for recordings of genuine Irish traditional music, but only got around to issuing a single music recording, although one other disc was issued a tutorial on the pronunciation of Irish with Mairtín Ó Cadhain as the speaker. These recordings were made in 1963 at Bill Stapleton’s Studio in Dublin, and the tracks have been re-mastered for this re-issue by Harry Bradshaw. The following is Breandán Breathnach’s original sleeve note: Lovers of Irish music will need no introduction to Aggie Whyte (Mrs. Seamus Ryan) and Peadar Ó Lochlainn who together over the years on radio and at fleadhanna ceoil have delighted all with their music. Aggie Whyte, who hails from the Ballinakill district in Galway, comes from generations of musicians; her father, Tommy Whyte, was a member of the famous Ballinakill Céilí Band. She was awarded the Gold Medal in the competition for traditional fiddle playing at the Oireachtas in 1958 and in the same year with Peadar Ó Lochlainn won the competition for duets at this musical festival. Peadar Ó Lochlainn, who had four years previously won the competition for flute playing, comes from Kilmaley, County Clare. He is an all-round musician, having many firsts to his credit for flute, fiddle and pipe playing. He is a member of the well-known Tulla Céilí Band. In a perfect blending of fiddle and flute these two musicians illustrate in well chosen melodies the richness of Irish folk-music.
  1. Reels: The Chattering Magpie, The Flax in Bloom 2:24
  2. Jigs: Cathaoir an Phíobaire, Whelan’s 2:04
  3. Reels: McDermott’s, Murphy’s 2:21
  4. Jigs: The Pipe on the Hob, The Carraroe Jig 2:03
  5. Reels: Miss Thornton, Sporting Nell 2:23
  6. Jigs: An Rógaire Dubh, The Humours of Ennistymon 2:04